County Signs: ‘Just racin’ (for a while) in the rain …’


By MONTE DUTTON

Friday night lights (Monte Dutton photos)
Click here.

I probably would not have watched the NASCAR Xfinity Series race from New Hampshire. I discovered the Sci Aps 200 was starting on rain tires, which had never been used on an oval.

The rain was clearing out. The teams only ran treaded tires for 10 laps.

Once upon a time, I was opposed to running any kind of stock-car race in the rain. I haven’t thought much of the rainy road races I’ve seen on TV. I suppose they were entertaining for fans who enjoy few passes and plenty of spins.

Click here.

NASCAR vehicles are hardly supple on road courses. They’re twice as heavy with half the tires. The tires have been widened but not nearly enough.

My view has evolved, though. TV doesn’t like to show replays of old races during rain delays. Fans don’t like staying over, and some of them can’t. I also watched hoping in vain someone would say what Sci Aps are.

Only recently have I determined that having a Celsius does not mean someone is a temperature enthusiast. Is there a Fahrenheit energy drink?

Click here.

When I was watching at the tracks, the potential of rain didn’t cause gnashing of teeth, but it required considerable adjustment. A writer had to make calls too early because, if he (or she) waited, the flights were already full. More than once, I made arrangements to stay an extra day, the race got run, and I had lots of time to kill. It was, however, much cheaper to stay another day and not pay full price for airline tickets. Changing 24 hours early was required to maintain the discount rates from early booking.

It wasn’t my money, but I was answerable to those whose money it was.

Click here.

This is kind of a collection of beliefs I got wrong.

I used to think hockey could not thrive in areas where kids couldn’t skate around on frozen ponds firing rubber Skoal cans between two bales of hay. Atlanta lost two NHL teams. The Flames moved to Calgary, Alberta, and the Thrashers became the Winnipeg (Manitoba) Jets.

Other than in Atlanta, I was wrong. I have several friends who are nuts about the Carolina Hurricanes.

Click here.

I like hockey, but I don’t follow it much unless the Chicago Blackhawks are strong, which hasn’t been lately.

Why do I like the Blackhawks? Probably because, when I was 10 years old, I determined Chicago had the coolest uniforms in sports. I still think that.

At the moment, I’m excited because the Edmonton (Alberta) Oilers because they have won three straight games to force a Game 7 against the Florida Panthers for the championship.

The Florida Panthers. A hockey team. Beats me.

I watched the Oilers win, 5-1, Friday night and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Click here.

Hockey had a 3network game of the week 50 years ago. I knew the difference between offsides and icing when I was 12.

No Canadian team has won the Stanley Cup since 1993.

It seems impossible. And wrong. It’s enough for me to root for the Oilers.

Which brings up an interesting point.

I like hockey. I like soccer. I like lacrosse. I like softball, golf, tennis and wrestling, though not particularly the professional variety. Undoubtedly, I have omitted other sports I like. Horse racing. Rodeo.

Click here.

I just don’t like them as much as auto racing, baseball, basketball, football and auto racing. The order is alphabetical. The favorite depends on the time of year. I don’t like football as much in baseball season or baseball in football season. I’m accustomed to racing any time Santa Claus isn’t nearby.

To each his own.

Click here.

Chapin-Newberry Post 193/24 prevailed in the rubber game of three this week against Greenwood Post 20, 7-6, on Friday night at Legion Stadium.

Center fielder and leadoff man Maddox Floyd led Chapin-Newberry (7-4) with a double, two singles, a run and four RBI in three at-bats.

Greenwood (4-5) got a double and a single from catcher Ben Overholt. Ex-Laurens Raiders Jaedon Goodwin, in center, and Jackson Martin, in right, each hit safely.

Carson Glenn started for C-N and pitched well, though he did not get the decision for his 3-1/3 innings of work. All five of the runs charged him were unearned. Glenn allowed three hits, walked two and struck out three.

Another Red Devil, left fielder Brett Young, was 1/3 and scored a run.

In the three games – Monday, Wednesday and Friday – Chapin-Newberry outscored the Braves, 15-13.

Click here.

Clinton High placekicker Keegan Fortman intends to continue his career and education at Carson-Newman University in Jefferson City, Tenn.

Advertising alone will not keep me going. I rely on readers who like the coverage I provide to make contributions.

Please donate whatever you consider appropriate via Venmo at DHK Sports. You may send a check, if you prefer, to DHK Sports, 11185 Hwy. 56N, Clinton, S.C. 29325.

If you choose, make a monthly donation via Patreon. The Laurens County site is here. The Furman site is here.

Support the advertisers. They are all fine people who appreciate my attempts to restore coverage of local sports. They are dependable, and not too long ago, I sold a couple ads to folks who weren’t. I am thus cautious.

Click here.

In the off chance you’d like to read my novels and other books, they’re available on Amazon and many prominent bookseller sites. You can read them on your phones and other devices for a modest cost. I make a bit more if you purchase the actual books, but what I mainly want is for folks to read them.

Sample my collection of short stories, Longer Songs (they were based on songs I wrote). Download it for 99 cents.

Photo galleries are posted on Instagram @furmanatt and @laurenscountysports.

Thanks for your support.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.