County Signs: Saying bye to the Say Hey Kid


By MONTE DUTTON

Clinton Family YMCA executive director Harold Nichols surrounded by champions (YMCA photos)
Click here.

I’ve been thinking about this since I heard the news of Willie Howard Mays’ death on Tuesday night.

I think three athletes have made me cry.

On the way from Fenway Park back to New Hampshire on a NASCAR weekend, I heard on the radio of the death of Johnny Unitas. I had to pull off the road.

Click here.

Someone passed along a video of Carl Yastrzemski’s final game at Fenway, when he ran around the edge of the field shaking and slapping hands with fans in the lower rows. Watching it made me cry, and I’ve never been more surprised in my life. Tears are unlike me.

My eyes got damp last night and this morning.

Click here.

Mays wasn’t just the best. He was the most entertaining. Mays’ body had a lot of moving parts. He was a perpetual-motion machine. I never saw Mays play in person until he was 35 (and I was eight).

Rudy Jones, my longtime sportswriting friend, and I both saw Mays hit home runs at Atlanta Stadium (Fulton County wasn’t added until later) in 1966. They were separate games. Mays hit two in the Braves’ maiden season. I saw one. Rudy saw the other.

Click here.

This morning I heard something Reggie Jackson said, that fans went to see Babe Ruth for one thing, and they went to see Mays for everything.

Mays could do everything in baseball 90 percent as well as anyone who ever lived.

The Say Hey Kid. When he was 20, new to the major leagues, Mays had difficulty remembering names, so, when someone greeted him, he said, “Say … hey!”

I could never hit a curveball. My arm stank the last time I used it. I have trouble remembering names, though.

Now we say bye to the Say Hey Kid.

Click here.

The Diamond Youth baseball teams representing the Clinton Family YMCA have gone together where only individual teams have gone gone before.

All three all-star teams – AA Coaches Pitch (7-8 age group), AAA Minors (9-10) and O Zone (11-12) – won the District 3 championships, meaning that all three qualify for the state tournaments in July.

The tournaments are in Walterboro for Coaches Pitch, West Columbia for Minors and Sumter for O Zone. The opening ceremonies are on Friday, July 5.

Four times in one College World Series game, one of the announcers fretted about a team’s hitting.

He said the team had averaged nine runs a game in the regular season but only six in the playoffs.

Click here.

Duh.

They play better teams in the playoffs.

Recently-appointed Presbyterian College women’s soccer head coach Matt Smith has announced the team’s schedule. PC will participate in 17 regular-season matches beginning on Aug. 15, including eight Big South Conference matches.

The Blue Hose will compete inside Martin Stadium against eight opponents this fall.

Click here.

Over 19 seasons as both an assistant and head coach, Smith has been apart of 175 victories as well as 14 postseason appearances and four trips to the NCAA Tournament.

The Big South Tournament’s quarterfinal round will be dueled on Nov. 2 from the site of whomever is the higher seed. Charlotte will serve as the location for the Semi’s and Championship, played on the 7th and 10th.

The winner of the Big South tourney will earn the league’s automatic bid to the 2024 NCAA Championship, joining the field of 64 in pursuit of a national title.

Check out the schedule here.

The bad news was that Golden Strip Post 271 lost its second game in a row, 4-3, to Easley Post 52 on Tuesday evening.

The good news was that ex-Laurens Raiders collected all eight of Golden Strip’s hits.

Coleman Coker and Joshua Hughes each had two hits. Ben Willis tripled and Asher Goss doubled. Bennett Edwards and Owen Pridgen each singled.

All three Golden Strip (4-2) pitchers – Goss, Connor Rice and Hughes – were Raiders, and they only allowed four hits. Goss, who toiled the first four innings, took the loss.

Chapin-Newberry Post 193/24 defeated Greenwood Post 20, 3-1, on Monday night, with Jake Peterson limiting the Braves to a single hit and a single walk, both by ex-Laurens center fielder Jaedon Goodwin, who also scored the only run.

Click here.

Clinton left fielder Brett Young walked and scored a run for the American Legion baseball winners.

Chapin-Newberry (6-2) plays Greenwood (3-4) again on Wednesday at Newberry College.

Advertising alone will not keep me going. I rely on readers who like the coverage I provide to make contributions.

Click here.

Please donate whatever you consider appropriate via Venmo at DHK Sports. You may send a check, if you prefer, to DHK Sports, 11185 Hwy. 56N, Clinton, S.C. 29325.

If you choose, make a monthly donation via Patreon. The Laurens County site is here. The Furman site is here.

Click here.

Support the advertisers. They are all fine people who appreciate my attempts to restore coverage of local sports. They are dependable, and not too long ago, I sold a couple ads to folks who weren’t. I am thus cautious.

In the off chance you’d like to read my novels and other books, they’re available on Amazon and many prominent bookseller sites. You can read them on your phones and other devices for a modest charge. I make a bit more if you purchase the actual books, but what I mainly want is for folks to read them.

Photo galleries are posted on Instagram @furmanatt and @laurenscountysports.

Thanks for your support.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.