The Winter Solstice of Our Content

winter-solstice-kindle-cover-copy-copy

 

I raced right through Winter Solstice, a compilation of short stories by Kindle Press authors.

Part of the reason I raced through was that two of the stories, “Strange Bedfellows” and “Chance Chills,” are mine. I’m lying. They were the first two I read. When an author reads stories he wrote, and he hasn’t thought about them since he submitted them, first it’s scary and then it’s a relief.

Who knew? My story ain’t half bad.

I’m certainly not objective about my own work, but my stories revisit characters in my two Kindle Press novels, Crazy of Natural Causes (2015) and Forgive Us Our Trespasses (2016).

By Monte Dutton
By Monte Dutton

“Chance Chills” takes Chance Benford back to Hollywood, where he appears on the TV show where Crazy of Natural Causes ended, two years earlier. Hal Kinley, the hero of Forgive Us Our Trespasses, runs for sheriff of Rollison County, and finds some unlikely support, in “Strange Bedfellows.”

If you read those novels, I expect you’ll enjoy catching up with characters you met there, and if you haven’t, I expect you might want to read the novels from which they sprung.

That, of course, is the plan. Not my plan. The plan mastermind is Lincoln Cole, who edited and compiled it. He and I are joined among the contributors by our colleagues Linda Cassidy Lewis, Jessica Knauss, Jacqueline Ward, Ann Omasta, Jada Ryker, Fiona Quinn, Katherine Hayton, and Teresa Roman.

Winter Solstice – you can download it for free here – is divided into sections: Romance; Sci-Fi, Fantasy & Horror; Mystery, Thriller & Suspense; and Literature & Fiction. “Strange Bedfellows” is in the third section, and “Chance Chills” is the lone entry in the fourth.

I’m not that interested in all those genres, but I read every story and there wasn’t one I didn’t enjoy.

Besides, it’s free, and, so, what have you got to lose? Winter Solstice is perfect for knocking out one story while you’re eating out, alone, and need to kill some time before the nice lady brings the Tuesday Night Special, and if I don’t finish it, I read it before I pay the bill. It’s perfect for an airport layover, or for guys like me who are annoyingly punctual by nature, having nothing but friends who are fashionably late, and find themselves with a half hour to kill on a bench outside a ballgame, a table at a  coffee shop, or a waiting room where either themselves or their automobiles are being serviced.

I will read several books that were introduced to me in the pages of Winter Solstice. Wouldn’t it be something if others were similarly inspired by one of my submissions?

If you’d like me to mail you a signed copy of Cowboys Come Home, or any of my other novels, you can find my address and instructions at montedutton.com. (montedutton.com/blog/merchandise)

(Jennifer Skutelsky cover design)
(Jennifer Skutelsky cover design)

I’ve written five novels and a collection of short stories. I’ve also written a number of books about sports, mostly about NASCAR. You can find most of them here.

Crazy of Natural Causes is on Amazon sale all month for $.99.

(Jennifer Skutelsky cover design)
(Jennifer Skutelsky cover design)

The Kindle versions of my books, where available, can be found above. Links below are to print editions.

My new novel is a western, Cowboys Come Home. Two World War II heroes come home from the Pacific to Texas.

I’ve written a crime novel about the corrosive effects of patronage and the rise and fall of a powerful politician and his dysfunctional family, Forgive Us Our Trespasses.

I’ve written about what happens to a football coach when he loses everything, Crazy of Natural Causes. It’s a fable of life’s absurdity.

(Melanie Ryon cover design)
(Melanie Ryon cover design)

I’ve written a tale of the Sixties in the South, centered on school integration and a high school football team, The Intangibles.

(Joe Font cover design)
(Joe Font cover design)

I’ve written a rollicking yarn about the feds trying to track down and manipulate a national hero who just happens to be a pot-smoking songwriter, The Audacity of Dope.

I’ve written a collection of 11 short stories, all derived from songs I wrote, Longer Songs.

 

(Cover photo by Crystal Lynn)
(Cover photo by Crystal Lynn)

Follow me on Twitter @montedutton, @hmdutton (about writing), and/or @wastedpilgrim (more opinionated and irreverent). I’m on Facebook (Monte.Dutton), Instagram (TUG50), and Google-Plus (MonteDuttonWriter).

cowboyshome_fullcvr343-page-001
(Design by Steven Novak)
Leave a Reply

