The System Works Too Well

(Monte Dutton photo)
(Monte Dutton photo)

At least a dozen people today have told me they’re glad it’s about to be over, but it won’t be. The division of this country is at its peak. It won’t just stop when a president is determined.

Oh, no. The losers are going to try to get the winners impeached.

By Monte Dutton
By Monte Dutton

Maybe I’ve just been slowly deluded by a life of writing about sports. The problem is that Americans are so sports-crazy that they’ve turned politics into one. It’s not enough to disagree with a candidate. One must despise him or her. I’m for the Bears. You’re for the Bulldogs. I hate you.

A few minutes ago, I noted that a link to a story on Facebook was inaccurate. I didn’t mention a political issue. I just replied that it was generally a tip-off to a story being fake when the subject’s name was misspelled. Someone else replied. I tried to click to see what he said.

I had been blocked. I didn’t even disagree. I just pointed out the link was fake.

Hear no evil. See no evil. Vote evil.

Folks, the problem in our republic is not that the system is broken. The problem is that it works too well. A country that pays no attention to its government is a country that deserves the one it gets.

It’s not entirely the politicians’ fault. There’s plenty of blame to go around. We mold them. A public servant who sticks his or her neck out has to fight like to hell to stay in office. One who does what it takes to get elected spends all his or her time raising money and naturally gravitates to the interests the money represents. They’re all bums, except for our personal representatives. We rubber-stamp and encourage mediocrity every chance we get.

Politics is the art of the possible. We demand an art of the impossible.

The country has cast aside its idealism. It has become more selfish. It has lost its feel for the common good. No one is willing to accept a share of the blame.

I am. I’m going to do better. This election won’t cure what ails us. It just identifies the poison. It’s pretty easy. It’s always found in our hearts and minds.

I’ve written five novels and a collection of short stories. I’ve also written a number of books about sports, mostly about NASCAR. You can find most of them here.

(Jennifer Skutelsky cover design)
(Jennifer Skutelsky cover design)

The Kindle versions of my books, where available, can be found above. Links below are to print editions.

My new novel is a western, Cowboys Come Home.

I’ve written a crime novel about the corrosive effects of patronage and the rise and fall of a powerful politician and his dysfunctional family, Forgive Us Our Trespasses.

I’ve written about what happens to a football coach when he loses everything, Crazy of Natural Causes.

(Melanie Ryon cover design)
(Melanie Ryon cover design)

I’ve written a tale of the Sixties in the South, centered on school integration and a high school football team, The Intangibles.

(Joe Font cover design)
(Joe Font cover design)

I’ve written a rollicking yarn about the feds trying to track down and manipulate a national hero who just happens to be a pot-smoking songwriter, The Audacity of Dope.

I’ve written a collection of 11 short stories, all derived from songs I wrote, Longer Songs.

 

(Cover photo by Crystal Lynn)
(Cover photo by Crystal Lynn)

Follow me on Twitter @montedutton, @hmdutton (about writing), and/or @wastedpilgrim (more opinionated and irreverent). I’m on Facebook (Monte.Dutton), Instagram (TUG50), and Google-Plus (MonteDuttonWriter).

cowboyshome_fullcvr343-page-001

Leave a Reply

