Cowboys at Warp Speed

cowboyshome_fullcvr343-page-001

Every day has its ups and downs. Okay, not every day. It seems as if mine are seldom mediocre. Either everything goes right, or vice-versa.

This one has gone wildly erratic. Let’s highlight the positive, though.

By Monte Dutton (John Clark photo)
By Monte Dutton (John Clark photo)

My fifth novel, first western and second historical, is impending. Today I approved the proof. I’m delighted with the cover. I think readers are going to want this one in print if for no other reason because the cover, by Steven Novak, is perfect and beautiful. You’re going to want it on your shelves.

Two Marines, home from World War II in the Pacific, find more trouble when they get back to Texas.

If my first four novels were rated the way movies are, they’d be “R.” This one is probably “PG.” Violence. Some sexual content. Language. The characters’ language is less profane. I think it was that way in the 1940s. They don’t talk like sailors. They talk like Marines. And cowboys.

I can’t believe how rapid this self-publishing racket moves. I approved the print proof this morning. I prepared it for Kindle release this afternoon. I went out to run some errands and eat Chinese food. I got back home and fired up this laptop.

It was up for sale on Amazon! Print and Kindle! You can buy it now. Hell, I can buy it now. I want to see it in all its splendor.

More soon. This is all I can muster at the moment.

Buy this novel. You’ll love it. I’m liable to need a new set of tires here directly.

(Jennifer Skutelsky cover design)
(Jennifer Skutelsky cover design)

I’ve written four novels and a collection of short stories. I’ve also written a number of books about sports, mostly about NASCAR. You can find most of them here.

(Jennifer Skutelsky cover design)
(Jennifer Skutelsky cover design)

The Kindle versions of my books, where available, can be found above. Links below are to print editions.

I’ve written a crime novel about the corrosive effects of patronage and the rise and fall of a powerful politician and his dysfunctional family, Forgive Us Our Trespasses.

I’ve written about what happens to a football coach when he loses everything, Crazy of Natural Causes.

(Melanie Ryon cover design)
(Melanie Ryon cover design)

I’ve written a tale of the Sixties in the South, centered on school integration and a high school football team, The Intangibles.

(Joe Font cover design)
(Joe Font cover design)

I’ve written a rollicking yarn about the feds trying to track down and manipulate a national hero who just happens to be a pot-smoking songwriter, The Audacity of Dope.

I’ve written a collection of 11 short stories, all derived from songs I wrote, Longer Songs.

 

(Cover photo by Crystal Lynn)
(Cover photo by Crystal Lynn)

Follow me on Twitter @montedutton, @hmdutton (about writing), and/or @wastedpilgrim (more opinionated and irreverent). I’m on Facebook (Monte.Dutton), Instagram (TUG50), and Google-Plus (MonteDuttonWriter).

Leave a Reply

