Based on Them

(Monte Dutton photos)
(Monte Dutton photos)

A hurricane is headed toward the coast, though, at the moment, it doesn’t appear as if it’s going to get too bad here in the Upstate. It looks like I’ll be writing about a high school football game on Thursday and Friday nights. I’ve been switching the TV back and forth between weather and politics all day, trying to pay as little attention as possible, right up until one or the other makes me think it’s time to run for my life.

By Monte Dutton (John Clark photo)
By Monte Dutton (John Clark photo)

None of that is why I’m depressed. I’m depressed because I’ve been writing a chapter of fiction in which the principal character is depressed. He’s about to get quite a shock. When I’m writing fiction, I try to make the eyes of the characters mine. Neither Riley Mansfield, Chance Benford, Hal Kinley, Harry Byerly or (now) Mickey Statler is based on me, but when I write about them, I base myself on them.

Mickey’s about to mess up. This slip is going to propel the rest of the novel (tentatively titled Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell). He’s about to get involved in something larger than he can comprehend. He’s not going to have a choice.

Once I get this chapter finished – I wrote about seven hundred words yesterday – I’m going to work on getting Cowboys Come Home self-published.

(Jennifer Skutelsky cover design)
(Jennifer Skutelsky cover design)

I’ve written four novels and a collection of short stories. I’ve also written a number of books about sports, mostly about NASCAR. You can find most of them here.

(Jennifer Skutelsky cover design)
(Jennifer Skutelsky cover design)

The Kindle versions of my books, where available, can be found above. Links below are to print editions.

I’ve written a crime novel about the corrosive effects of patronage and the rise and fall of a powerful politician and his dysfunctional family, Forgive Us Our Trespasses.

I’ve written about what happens to a football coach when he loses everything, Crazy of Natural Causes.

(Melanie Ryon cover design)
(Melanie Ryon cover design)

I’ve written a tale of the Sixties in the South, centered on school integration and a high school football team, The Intangibles.

(Joe Font cover design)
(Joe Font cover design)

I’ve written a rollicking yarn about the feds trying to track down and manipulate a national hero who just happens to be a pot-smoking songwriter, The Audacity of Dope.

I’ve written a collection of 11 short stories, all derived from songs I wrote, Longer Songs.

Most of my sports columns are at montedutton.com.

(Cover photo by Crystal Lynn)
(Cover photo by Crystal Lynn)

Follow me on Twitter @montedutton, @hmdutton (about writing), and/or @wastedpilgrim (more opinionated and irreverent). I’m on Facebook (Monte.Dutton), Instagram (TUG50), and Google-Plus (MonteDuttonWriter).

2 thoughts on “Based on Them

  1. Looking forward to the resumption of more closely keeping up with your wordsmithing efforts, Mr. Dutton.

    Conroy’s gone and Jimmy Mac is throwing zingers around FaceBook, so looks like it’s all on your shoulders now, big boy. Glad you can handle it…and it looks like you’re wearing the letters slap offa the keys.

    Keep it rolling…
    GB

Leave a Reply

