Same Old Me in a Different Direction

I'm preparing myself for shining moments. (Monte Dutton photo)
I’m preparing myself for shining moments. (Monte Dutton photo)
By Monte Dutton
By Monte Dutton

I have a clue where the next novel is headed. I can see the general direction. Out on the horizon lies a lovely sunset. I’ve just got to figure out how to get there. As the cowboy in the old Texas tune “I’m a Ro-Deo-Deo-Deo Cowboy (Bordering on the Insane)” expresses:

Gimme a beer or two and I’ll be fine / At least it worked every other time …

I got this thing. I’ve already written five of them sonsabitches.

(Steven Novak design)
(Steven Novak design)

Sorry. I just wrote a western. I’m still in character.

I sketched out a basic outline. After each chapter, I go back and add layers of detail. In my mind, this facilitates side trips when it suits my fancy. A dissenting view might be that it causes the story to wander. No one told me to do it this way. I didn’t read about it in Writer’s Digest. I wrote my first book almost thirty years ago. This has evolved over the years, most notably since I started writing fiction. Neverland Publishing LLC published The Audacity of Dope five years ago.

At the moment, I have two chapters I really like — I can’t imagine writing two chapters I didn’t like, because a writer’s goal is to write well and those two chapters were goals! — and the next few flitting about in mental development. After I write each, they go through quality control. I worked one summer in heat treatment. It was about the same thing.

Another goal is to be funny. Not amusing. Not outlandish. Funny. So far it’s wickedly, cynically, irreverently, satirically, sarcastically … funny. It may rub some the wrong way. Most of what I’ve ever written has.

(Jennifer Skutelsky cover design)
(Jennifer Skutelsky cover design)

Stop by L&L Office Supply, 114 North Broad Street, Clinton and buy one of my novels. Buy either Forgive Us Our Trespasses or Crazy of Natural Causes, and you’ll get a volume of my short stories, Longer Songs, absolutely free. Tell ‘em Monte sent you, y’hear?

(Cover design by Jennifer Skutelsky)
(Cover design by Jennifer Skutelsky)

Kindle versions – you don’t have to have a Kindle, just a free app for your electronic devices – of most of my books are available here. Links to print copies are below.

Forgive Us Our Trespasses is the latest. It’s a tale about crooked politician who wants to be governor, whatever it takes, and another man trying to stop him. It’s outrageous.

Crazy of Natural Causes is about the fall and rise of Chance Benford, a Kentucky football coach who reinvents himself. It’s original.

(Melanie Ryon cover design)
(Melanie Ryon cover design)

The Intangibles is about the South in the 1960s, complete with racial strife, bigotry, resentment, cultural exchange and, of course, high school football.

(Crystal Lynn cover photo)
(Crystal Lynn cover photo)

The Audacity of Dope is the tale of Riley Mansfield, a pot-smoking songwriter turned national hero with a taste for the former and a distaste for the latter.

Longer Songs is a collection of 11 short stories that all began in songs I wrote.

Follow me at Facebook (Monte.Dutton), Twitter (@montedutton), Google+ (MonteDuttonWriter) and/or Instagram (Tug50).

Leave a Reply

