Wandering Through the Fingers of My Hands

Somewhere up there, a story flows.
Somewhere up there, a story flows.

Each morning Facebook provides a look back to items I posted on this date in previous years. Mostly it informs me that what I am doing is the same.

By Monte Dutton (John Clark photo)
By Monte Dutton (John Clark photo)

Now I’m trying to tie all the loose ends in my fifth novel, Cowboys Come Home, together. The manuscript is ready. I have to make up my mind where I’m going with it.

A year ago, my third novel, Crazy of Natural Causes, was nearing its release. The fourth, Forgive Us Our Trespasses, has been out about three months.

A year ago, I was writing the same two weekly NASCAR columns, one for Bleacher Report and the other for competitionplus.com. I was driving the same car and the same truck.

(Jennifer Skutelsky cover design)
(Jennifer Skutelsky cover design)

Now the Red Sox are doing better. I write more blogs about local sports and less about NASCAR. In part, this is because I write about local sports for the GoLaurens/GoClinton website now. That started about football season in 2015.

(Joe Font cover design)
(Joe Font cover design)

All my novels are different. The Audacity of Dope (2011) is a chase between a pot-smoking musician turned national hero, Riley Mansfield, and a variety politicians and government operatives. The Intangibles (2013) is a story of a small Southern town during the 1960s. Crazy of Natural Causes (2015) is about a man who loses everything and reinvents himself in unexpected ways. Forgive Us Our Trespasses (2016) is about a good cop trying to take down a corrupt politician and the thugs who surround him.

(Cover photo by Crystal Lynn)
(Cover photo by Crystal Lynn)

Longer Songs (2016) is a collection of short stories derived from songs I’ve written.

Cowboys Come Home is a western set at the end of World War II when two Texans come home after serving heroically for the Marines in the Pacific.

(Melanie Ryon cover design)
(Melanie Ryon cover design)

Now I want to move ahead to number six, and I’ve been daydreaming about it, formulating a basic plot in my head.

Guess what? It’s different.

I don’t know what it’s going to be called. While daydreaming, I’ve come up with several titles I can’t remember now. If they’re good enough, I’ll retrieve them from my memory at some point. Of the five (four have already been published), only Crazy of Natural Causes and Cowboys Come Home had titles before I was halfway finished with the first draft.

(Jennifer Skutelsky cover design)
(Jennifer Skutelsky cover design)

Every Day Is Different. I just thought of that. I should write it down. Here will do for now. I’ll put it in my phone when it gets done recharging.

What of Cowboys Come Home?

Oh, I just decided that I wanted to write a western based in the twentieth century. I was inspired by the novels of Larry McMurtry (Leaving Cheyenne, The Last Picture Show) and movies like The Misfits and Giant. I started thinking about all the kids who went off to fight the Germans and Japanese after never having traveled farther away than the next county. Coming home. What must that have been like? I surprised myself by becoming fascinated with this topic.

I love writing fiction because it’s hard. It requires perusing the minds of imaginary characters. Perhaps it’s just an acceptable form of madness.

The links above are to the print versions of my books. They can also be found in Kindle editions here.

Signed copies of three of my books are available here in Clinton, South Carolina, at L&L Office Supply, 114 North Broad Street.

Follow me on Twitter @montedutton, Facebook (Monte.Dutton), Google+ (MonteDuttonWriter), and/or Instagram (Tug50).

Or don’t. I appreciate you taking the time to read this.

Leave a Reply

