Back to the Bunkhouse

(Monte Dutton sketches)
(Monte Dutton sketches)

This morning I’ve been reacquainting myself with a manuscript. I lost a race with Cowboys Come Home. I wanted to finish its first draft before my fourth novel, Forgive Us Our Trespasses, was published. It was released in Kindle edition on March 29. I was still a couple or three chapters shy.

By Monte Dutton (John Clark photo)
By Monte Dutton (John Clark photo)

Then came the deluge of income taxes, preparing Trespasses and Crazy of Natural Causes for print release, and self-publishing a collection of short stories, Longer Songs.

Now it’s time to concentrate again on my modern western. Ennis Middlebrooks and Harry Byerly have been waiting patiently, not to mention wild young Becky and the array of enemies lurking about. Ennis and Harry came from World War II heroes, and all they wanted to do was just go home and run cattle, but they found no peace in Janus.

I just finished reviewing the recent details and the outline. I’ve got other duties today, but I hope to chip away at Chapter 32, anyway.

WIN_20150227_202945Rain has piled everything up. Today the races at Charlotte Motor Speedway have been shoved together from a little after dawn to the edge of tomorrow, with precious little leeway for more rain. I still make a spot of money writing about NASCAR.

At one point last week, I was going to write about a baseball game on Thursday and a football (spring) game on Friday. Then the baseball game got postponed to Friday, and then the baseball and football games got moved to Monday, and now I’m back to the football game and someone else is going to Columbia for the baseball game.

I’m ready to submerge myself again into the cowboy’s world, fighting to save his way of life from the latest intrusion on his unfettered range.

 

(Jennifer Skutelsky cover design)
(Jennifer Skutelsky cover design)

                My new novel, Forgive Us Our Trespasses, is a small-town crime thriller about the corrosive effect of patronage, not to mention drugs, sex, corruption, a father and a son, and spoiled kids who are as out of control as their monstrous father.

                Crazy of Natural Causes is about a Kentucky football coach who manages to rebuild and reinvent himself by dealing with absurdity on its own terms.

(Cover photo by Crystal Lynn)
(Cover photo by Crystal Lynn)

                Longer Songs is a collection of eleven short stories, all derived from songs I’ve written.

                The Intangibles is a story of the South during the 1960s, dealing naturally with bigotry, desegregation, civil rights, and high school football.

                The Audacity of Dope is the story of a pot-smoking songwriter leading government operatives on a sometimes merry, sometimes dangerous, chase.

                Follow me on Twitter @montedutton, @hmdutton (more from the writer’s perspective), and/or @wastedpilgrim (irreverence stressed). I’m on Facebook at Monte.Dutton.

Leave a Reply

