The Drudgery and the Damage Done

I need a break. This blog, unfortunately, is it.  (Monte Dutton photo)
I need a break. This blog, unfortunately, is it. (Monte Dutton photo)

Drudgery. I’m fighting it. I’m writing this blog to relieve drudgery. When I finish it, I shall return, like unto MacArthur to the Philippines.

On Friday, I was at home all day and most of the time right here, sitting behind my rolling desk. At long last and overdue, I am producing a print version of Crazy of Natural Causes, my third novel, which has been available in electronic form — not just Kindle, mind you, but via a free app that enables reading on a wide variety of devices of which most people have at least one — since late July of 2015.

By Monte Dutton (Photo by "some passer-by")
By Monte Dutton (Photo by “some passer-by”)

By laying it out myself, I can produce this novel in paperback on demand. By “on demand,” I mean that my only cost will be the copies I purchase myself to give to a few loved ones, preferably the ones who will read it, and place in nearby stores and the like. It’s not quite done. I have one remaining glitch, involving the cover, that I must figure out how to fix. Figuring out how to fix glitches is nettlesome and adds layers of drudgery, with a healthy of dose of frustration, absolutely free of charge.

I’m close, though, and so flushed am I with impending success that I am going to embark soon on self-publishing a volume of short stories titled Longer Songs. That’s because the short stories included all began in songs I’ve written. They are expansions. They are songs in greater detail.

Then I’m going to produce a print version of the brand-new novel, Forgive Us Our Trespasses, and it might even be that a print version will be properly timed.

The first draft of a fifth novel, Cowboys Come Home, is almost finished. After layout of Crazy of Natural Causes, Longer Songs, and Forgive Us Our Trespasses is completed, and I finally complete the income taxes that, too, are almost completed, I’ll go back to getting the cowboys home, so to speak.

I love writing, even this blog. I’m not as fond of layout and design. Income taxes are a drag, so much of a drag, in fact, that they should’ve been done a month ago. The accidental timing of taxes is going to be okay, too, because, by the time I get my refund, I will need it. Never mind that such timing would be in place no matter when the refund arrived. This have I been rationalizing for the aforementioned month.

So I had to blog. If my full-time job was layout and design — oh, believe you me, it once was — it would only be a matter of time until I snapped and went on a three-state killing spree.

Figuratively. I think.

(Jennifer Skutelsky cover design)
(Jennifer Skutelsky cover design)

              My new novel, Forgive Us Our Trespasses, is available now: http://www.amazon.com/Forgive-Our-Trespasses-Monte-Dutton-ebook/dp/B0192I3Q1K/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1458228862&sr=1-1&keywords=Monte+Dutton+Forgive+Us+Our+Trespasses

Forgive Us Our Trespasses is a crime novel about corruption and patronage in a small town. The tale unfolds across two generations at the same time.

(Jennifer Skutelsky cover design)
(Jennifer Skutelsky cover design)

As you may have noticed, I use these blogs as a promotional tool for my novels. One, Crazy of Natural Causes, has been out since late July of 2015. If you haven’t read it, I’d appreciate you considering it. It’s a freewheeling fable on the absurdity of life.

(Joe Font cover design)
(Joe Font cover design)

Crazy and Trespasses are my third and fourth novels. The Audacity of Dope, which is about a pot-smoking folksinger who becomes a national hero, was published in 2011. The Intangibles, published in 2013, is an historical novel about desegregation in the South, circa 1968. I’m working on a fifth, Cowboys Come Home. Most of my books can be examined and purchased here: http://www.amazon.com/Monte-Dutton/e/B005H3B144/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1416767492&sr=8-1

(Melanie Ryon cover design)
(Melanie Ryon cover design)

My nonfiction, much of which involves sports, is on display here: http://montedutton.com/

Follow me on Twitter @montedutton, @hmdutton (about writing) and @wastedpilgrim (more humor and opinion). I’m on Facebook at Monte.Dutton and Instagram at Tug50. Look for me by name at Google+.

 

Leave a Reply

