Please Buy My Novels Out of Thin Air

(Jennifer Skutelsky cover design)
(Jennifer Skutelsky cover design)

My new novel, Forgive Us Our Trespasses, goes on sale at Amazon.com on March 29.

To my friends who cling to their tightly packed paper, I apologize because the new novel, like the last one, will be unavailable in print, at least for now. I’d like to sell paper novels. I own the rights to print editions. I just have this fundamental belief that, if a book is good enough and a market is there, the author ought not have to invest in his own work. My view is if someone or something has no investment in me, no incentive for promoting my work exists.

By Monte Dutton
By Monte Dutton

Any publishing house out there want to take my last two novels into the print market? I’m in the phone book. Clinton, South Carolina. The first two, The Audacity of Dope and The Intangibles, have always been available “in print.”

I’m scratching by and I don’t need any more risk. Or, more accurately, any risk at all. I’m no expert on promotion, but I do what I can.

When I found the KindleScout program, it appealed to me because it included a modest advance and a generous share of the proceeds. I was a bit leery at first, but I submitted Crazy of Natural Causes, my third novel, and it was selected. Then, when I felt like I had polished up Forgive Us Our Trespasses enough, I submitted it, too, and it was selected. The former was released on July 21, 2015, and the latter will be out in less than two weeks.

It’s available for advance order now: http://www.amazon.com/Forgive-Our-Trespasses-Monte-Dutton-ebook/dp/B0192I3Q1K/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1458228862&sr=1-1&keywords=Monte+Dutton+Forgive+Us+Our+Trespasses

I have high hopes. I have loyal readers. I need more of them.

Shortly after the release of Crazy of Natural Causes, I performed an experiment. I bought my mother a Kindle. She has been around for three quarters of a century. She wasn’t enthusiastic about reading a book from some contraption.

Meanwhile, admittedly, I was cultivating a knack for e-reading myself, and I was no whiz. I started reading a book on the tablet that I can insert into a keyboard, and, in fact, is where I am typing now. I took it to a restaurant and read it while waiting for my food to arrive, and afterwards, while I digested it a while.

The next time, I forgot the tablet, at which point I realized I could read the same book on my iPhone. When I clicked on it in the free Kindle app, not only did it pop up, but it took me to the place where I had stopped reading it on the tablet.

I have four devices capable of letting me read, though I don’t think I’ve ever used the iPod for that purpose. I often use the iPod for part of the purpose of mowing lawns.

What’s more, my wonderful, heretofore-set-in-her-ways mother has started taking her Kindle with her wherever she goes.

If Betty Dutton can read a Kindle, so can you. Most of you already have a device where you can read my books inexpensively (the new one is $3.49; Crazy of Natural Causes is presently on sale at $1.99). It’s most likely a phone you are already using to send the world word of your latest personal developments.

It’s easy. It’s convenient. In the unlikely event that you happen across a word of mine that you don’t understand, click on it. A definition from a genuine dictionary will pop up. Click again, and it disappears. To turn pages, either touch the right side of the screen, or, in the case of my phone, “swipe” from right to left. Touch the bottom of the screen, and it will take you anywhere in the story you want to visit or revisit.

Give it a try. You can download all four of my novels — at least, when March 29 rolls around — for a combined $13.46. Surely, an experimental reading of Crazy of Natural Causes is worth $1.99.

On the flip side, it doesn’t come with fries.

(Graphic by Meredith Pritchard; cover by Jennifer Skutelsky)
(Graphic by Meredith Pritchard; cover by Jennifer Skutelsky)

As you may have noticed, I use these blogs as a promotional tool for my novels. One, Crazy of Natural Causes, has been out since late July of 2015. If you haven’t read it, I’d appreciate you considering it. It’s a freewheeling fable on the absurdity of life.

(Joe Font cover design)
(Joe Font cover design)

Another, Forgive Us Our Trespasses, will be out March 29. It’s a crime novel about corruption and patronage in a small town. The tale unfolds across two generations at the same time.

Crazy and Trespasses are my third and fourth novels. The Audacity of Dope was published in 2011, The Intangibles in 2013. I’m working on a fifth, Cowboys Come Home. Most of my books can be examined and purchased here: http://www.amazon.com/Monte-Dutton/e/B005H3B144/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1416767492&sr=8-1

(Melanie Ryon cover design)
(Melanie Ryon cover design)

My nonfiction, much of which involves sports, is on display here: http://montedutton.com/

Follow me on Twitter @montedutton, @hmdutton (about writing) and @wastedpilgrim (more humor and opinion). I’m on Facebook at Monte.Dutton and Instagram at Tug50. Look for me by name at Google+. Whew. It’s too much.

 

3 thoughts on “Please Buy My Novels Out of Thin Air

  1. “I’d like to sell paper novels. I own the rights to print editions. I just have this fundamental belief that, if a book is good enough and a market is there, the author ought not have to invest in his own work. My view is if someone or something has no investment in me, no incentive for promoting my work exists.”

    Why not do Print On Demand through Createspace or one of its competitors? There is no up front cost other than formatting the book and cover for the print edition. You sell the paper copy through Amazon and get paid when someone buys it.

    The paragraph makes it sound like you have no option to put the book in print other than to invest in buying paper copies to sell. I’m confused.

      1. Well, if you decide you really want your novel in paperback, you should do a little research. I ended up paying a guy to format mine (paid I think $50 for a 120k novel), but I could have done it myself. It was another $50 or so to get my artist to covert the cover to paperback, so all told, I’m in it about a hundred bucks. I’m pretty sure I’ll never sell enough paperbacks to make the $100 back (though I’ll probably get close). This, however, was my first book and it was worth it to me to provide friends and family with hardcopies.

Leave a Reply

