Moping About the Madness

(Monte Dutton sketch)
(Monte Dutton sketch)

This morning I’m feeling paralyzed. I need to write about cowboys in 1946, and my mind is stuck in the present. I’ve tried sticking planks under the tires. I’ve jammed the gears. Nothing.

So I decided to ruminate here.

I’m thinking. I’m thinking.

By Monte Dutton
By Monte Dutton

Here’s the transition I’ve been making, and it may be unduly influenced by age. Heretofore have I thought that nothing facing the world is worse than what the world has faced in other times. I grew up a white Southerner in the midst of the civil rights movement, the Vietnam War, assassinations, rioting, and rebellion. I learned from it.

Now, I try to look back at my life — not to mention the history I’ve read — and find myself thinking, well, this time the world has really gone batty. As a Brit might ask of the world, are you daft?

Last night, I was in a general state of pissedoffedness.

I have little impact. This is it.

I really should concentrate on what I can do, which is complete the first draft of Cowboys Come Home before Forgive Us Our Trespasses comes out. I suddenly seem determined not to make this deadline. Nothing mandatory about it. With three novels on sale, one on the way, and another being written, I should be happy with my progress.

But I’m not happy with anything right now.

(Graphic by Meredith Pritchard; cover by Jennifer Skutelsky)
(Graphic by Meredith Pritchard; cover by Jennifer Skutelsky)

As you may have noticed, I use these blogs as a promotional tool for my novels. One, Crazy of Natural Causes, has been out since late July of 2015. If you haven’t read it, I’d appreciate you considering it. It’s a freewheeling fable on the absurdity of life.

(Jennifer Skutelsky cover design)
(Jennifer Skutelsky cover design)

Another, Forgive Us Our Trespasses, will be out soon. I’m expecting to be given a release date soon. It’s a crime novel about corruption and patronage in a small town. The tale unfolds across two generations at the same time.

(Joe Font cover design)
(Joe Font cover design)

Crazy and Trespasses are my third and fourth novels. The Audacity of Dope was published in 2011, The Intangibles in 2013. I’m working on a fifth, Cowboys Come Home. Most of my books can be examined and purchased here: http://www.amazon.com/Monte-Dutton/e/B005H3B144/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1416767492&sr=8-1

(Melanie Ryon cover design)
(Melanie Ryon cover design)

My nonfiction, much of which involves sports, is on display here: http://montedutton.com/

Follow me on Twitter @montedutton, @hmdutton (about writing) and @wastedpilgrim (more humor and opinion). I’m on Facebook at Monte.Dutton and Instagram at Tug50. Look for me by name at Google+. Whew. It’s too much.

 

Leave a Reply

