Tuesday Morning Consciousness Stream

I love trees. (Monte Dutton photo)
I love trees. (Monte Dutton photo)

 

I’ve had much to think of, and yet I’ve learned gradually that I’m living in a world that seldom thinks.

It tweets. It texts. It posts. It links.

It sinks.

But it seldom thinks. It’s turnt af. Nowumsayin?

Monte Dutton
Monte Dutton

Saturday was unexpected. I was pecking away at something at least as nonsensical as this when the phone rang, and an unexpected medical emergency gobbled up the rest of the day and night.

Then, on Sunday, a football emergency gobbled up the day and night.

Monday was good. The health issue subsided. My relative, once he was extremely unlucky, wound up lucky. He’s in pain, but he’s getting better, and it’s going to be all right.

It was a good day, all around. I was triumphant personally. I felt energetic. I wrote a chapter in a novel that I hope will be my fifth. I went to a jayvee basketball game. I wanted to see others be energetic so that I wouldn’t feel overly so. I needed to curb my enthusiasm.

Just a little.

Cowboys Come Home is the name of the novel down the road. They’re home, all right. It’s rough. Just like the war from which they came home.

Have I revealed too much? Good.

(Monte Dutton sketch)
(Monte Dutton sketch)

Tonight I’m writing about a basketball game. At one time, I was going to visit my relative in the hospital nearby. As it turns out, he’s already home. The basketball game is still there, though. Two, actually.

The TV’s on. I haven’t been paying attention, but I’m mildly aware of everything being about Cam Newton or Donald Trump. Maybe I’ll switch to The Weather Channel and see if Cam and the Donald are on there, and, if they’re on there, I’ll switch to WeatherNation, where, theoretically, Trump would have to be a cold front.

Which he is.

 

 

              If you’re interested in my sports writing, and other nonfiction writing, please take a look at www.montedutton.com from time to time.

(Joe Font cover design)
(Joe Font cover design)

              Most of my books – the novels Crazy of Natural Causes, The Intangibles and The Audacity of Dope, and the books about sports and music before them – are available here: http://www.amazon.com/Monte-Dutton/e/B005H3B144/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1416767492&sr=8-1

(Jennifer Skutelsky cover design)
(Jennifer Skutelsky cover design)

              Soon my fourth novel, Forgive Us Our Trespasses, will be released by Kindle Publishing.

              Follow me on Twitter @montedutton, @wastedpilgrim (more irreverently), and/or @hmdutton (more literarily). I’m on Facebook at Monte.Dutton, Instagram at Tug50, and Google+. I’m grateful for your support and patronage.

 

Leave a Reply

