What a Tangled Web I’ve Weaved

(Jennifer Skutelsky cover design)
(Jennifer Skutelsky cover design)

I’m sort of a mass of contradictions this morning. I want to get myself in the mood to work on fiction, but, so far, this has been one of those mornings in which I can’t come up with a topic, and so I bide some time by reading my timeline, and checking the weather, and being mildly annoyed at all the “retweets” and “shares” of propaganda regarding tonight’s Iowa Caucuses.

By Monte Dutton
By Monte Dutton

I don’t care who wins. I just hope it’s a good game. That’s what politics has become: a sport. It’s all about winning and not losing, principles be damned. If I decide to vote on honesty alone, there’s only one choice, but I have to decide if that’s going to be my number one issue. Honesty is rare. Is it irrelevant?

My novels have been unkind to politicians and preachers. Wait till you see the next one, Forgive Us Our Trespasses. I’m still awaiting word on the release date, but it won’t be long.

Trespasses is about Denny Frawley and Hal Kinley. It’s also about the twins Barry and Carole Frawley, and Hayden Kinley. Frawley is the ambitious solicitor and opportunist who wants to be governor. He has surrounded himself with a ruthless cabal of law enforcement officers. He has an alcoholic wife, Jenny, and a scheming mistress, Celia Tragg. The kids are as corrupt as their father and as prone to excess as their mother. No one will touch them because of who their father is. Kinley is a good cop who has known Frawley all his life. He has two priorities: Stop Frawley, and save his son, who has fallen under the spell of Frawley’s kids.

Darin Fowler, armed. (Monte Dutton sketch)
(Monte Dutton sketch)

Frawley, who believes in keeping his friends close and his enemies closer, hires Kinley as an informal investigator, not expecting Kinley to investigate him. He underestimates Kinley, who knows where he can find help bringing the solicitor down before the solicitor becomes governor.

(Monte Dutton sketch)
(Monte Dutton sketch)

Hal and Hayden must both avoid the wrath of Troy Pelzer, Frawley’s murderous right-hand man. They both have minefields to cross. The yard is strewn with dead bodies, dirty politics, booze, weed, cocaine, drug dealers, confused sexual identities, true love, infidelity, law enforcement officers who are all crooked and mostly stupid, an anonymous blogger who must be stopped, and a luckless Bible salesman from Memphis, Tennessee.

Pelzer, by the way, is living with Hal’s ex-wife.

 (Monte Dutton sketch)
(Monte Dutton sketch)

The center of the story is Latimohr, home of Roberson College, backwoods cabins, deer stands, country estates, lakefront retreats, and the dilapidated ruins of old cotton mills.

Forgive Us Our Trespasses is a parable about patronage, a comedy of killers, a cornucopia of crime, and a high time by many. What I hope is that it’s sufficiently entertaining to be read by many.

 

(Jennifer Skutelsky cover design)
(Jennifer Skutelsky cover design)

              Most of my books, from a collection of stock car racing columns to a tale of a football coach rising from ruination, are available here. http://www.amazon.com/Monte-Dutton/e/B005H3B144/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1416767492&sr=8-1

              Follow me on Twitter @montedutton, @wastedpilgrim (more irreverent), and/or @hmdutton (more literary). I’ve got room for friends on Facebook at Monte.Dutton, and I’m Tug50 on Instagram. If you’ve read my books, I’d appreciate a customer review on Amazon or at goodreads.com.

Leave a Reply

