Grab My Novel. Don’t Cost Much.

This is a sketch I made trying to depict some characters and scenes of Crazy of Natural Causes.
This is a sketch I made trying to depict some characters and scenes of Crazy of Natural Causes.

On Tuesday, July 21, my third novel, Crazy of Natural Causes, will be released by Kindle Publishing and available for immediate download at amazon.com. Those who have ordered it in advance, or do so between now and then, will received an immediate email containing a download shortly after the clock strikes midnight.

By Monte Dutton
By Monte Dutton

Those of you who nominated it for publication in the KindleScout program have already been offered the novel in advance. The idea was that my most loyal supporters would read it and leave a customer review on Amazon by release day, thus enhancing sales. You folks, I hope, took advantage of the free offer and will let the world know how you feel about it. A few heartfelt sentences can make a world of difference.

The above isn’t really the point of this blog. It’s an obligatory plea for the support of people who already support me.

The first person who reviewed Crazy of Natural Causes likened it to the work of the great Elmore Leonard, whose death saddened me for selfish reasons. I’m sad there won’t be more Leonard novels for me to read. The fact that someone out there compared me to one of my favorite novelists was an honor, though I’m not so presumptuous to deem it legitimate. The world was only fortunate enough to have one Elmore Leonard. If I patterned myself on him, I wouldn’t succeed. My only reasonable goal is to be one of my own kind and hope nobody does me better.

I’ve got a shot at that.

The majority of people who compose my Facebook friends and Twitter followers became acquainted with me through my writings about NASCAR. Crazy of Natural Causes has nothing to do with automobile racing. I hope you will nonetheless give it a shot because you like the way I write even when it’s not about fast cars going around and around.

(Cover design by Jennifer Skutelsky)
(Cover design by Jennifer Skutelsky)

The advance price of Crazy of Natural Causes is $3.49. It’s not much of a gamble. It’s not a “real book.” You can’t smell it. You can’t leave a book mark between its pages. I can’t autograph it. It won’t come in the mail or off a shelf. But you don’t have to own a Kindle, either. Free apps will deliver it to your phone, tablet, laptop, or music player. The “I’s” have it: iPhone, iPad, iPod, etc.

I like reading “real books,” too, but a tablet’s not too different. You can lean back in your chair or recline in your bed and read it by touching an arrow instead of turning a page.

If you don’t care to read what I write unless it’s about NASCAR, you know people who actually are avid readers. Refer it to them. Tell your favorite teacher, or your lawyer, or your doctor, or the fellow who does your taxes. Buy it for your wife or your kids if they’re not too young for it in your estimation.

(This cover was designed by Melanie Ryon.)
(This cover was designed by Melanie Ryon.)

At this stage in my career, the principal way I make a living is with books like this one, including my first two novels, The Audacity of Dope (2011) and The Intangibles (2013). I still earn a little from writing about NASCAR, but my days of making a fairly comfortable living in auto racing are over. I’m not unhappy or bitter. I’ve always wanted to write fiction. Now it’s a matter of making that work.

I hope Crazy of Natural Causes is my best work because it’s my latest, and the way to get better writing is to keep doing it, learn from every experience, and make very project better than the one that preceded it.

That’s my goal, and I hope I’m worthy of your patronage.

              You can buy Crazy of Natural Causes here: http://www.amazon.com/Crazy-Natural-Causes-Monte-Dutton-ebook/dp/B00YI8SWUU/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1436215069&sr=1-1&keywords=Crazy+of+Natural+Causes

              Most of my books, including many written about NASCAR, are available here: http://www.amazon.com/Monte-Dutton/e/B005H3B144/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1416767492&sr=8-1

Leave a Reply

