The Morning Habit

Sometimes I sketch. (Monte Dutton sketch)
Sometimes I sketch. (Monte Dutton sketch)

For some reason, I just thought of the words to an old Roy Clark song.

I never picked cotton / But my mama did / And my brother did / And my sister did / And my daddy died young / Working in a coal mine.

I relate a little because, before my grandfather stopped growing cotton on the family farm, I was too young to pick it. My other grandfather worked in the cotton mill, and I did one summer while I was in college.

That’s not the point of this blog.

By Monte Dutton
By Monte Dutton

I never drank coffee. Until fairly recently. Now I love it. Love it. In the morning when I’m not yet awake. Later when my attention slips. While I’m reading a book.

Coffee used to be something I’d drink when I was on the road, eating breakfast, and I’d order coffee because refills were free. In twenty years spent writing mostly about automobile racing, I never even had a cup of coffee at the track until the last couple years and, even then, rarely.

Now I work mostly at home, and coffee is one of the fundamental changes that occurred after my newspaper job was eliminated in 2013.

I get up, load the coffee maker, and take my daily medication. When it’s ready, I stir in some artificial sweetener, sit in the easy chair, turn on the TV, and see what Charlie Rose has to say while I’m seeing what popped up overnight on social media.

Then, like today, I turn on the laptop, or I fix breakfast. This morning I felt like writing first. This will get me warmed up. A blog is like singing scales in the chorus.

La-la-la-la-la-la-la-la-LAH, la-LAH …

 

Later, after I’ve tended to a few promotional duties for my third novel, Crazy of Natural Causes, which is available for advance orders now and will be released on July 21, I’m going to work on the final draft of what will be the fourth, Forgive Us Our Trespasses. In the meantime, reserve your Kindle edition of Crazy. It’s a mere $3.49 in pre-release. Surely, it’s worth taking a shot. http://www.amazon.com/Crazy-Natural-Causes-Monte-Dutton-ebook/dp/B00YI8SWUU/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1436215069&sr=1-1&keywords=Crazy+of+Natural+Causes

 

Leave a Reply

