It Takes a Village to Sell a Book

(Cover design by Jennifer Skutelsky)
(Cover design by Jennifer Skutelsky)

The reason promoting a book is so hard is that what one can do is might-nigh infinite, and time is maddeningly finite.

Crazy of Natural Causes, my third novel and first published (at least for now) strictly for Kindle, is available for advance purchase on Monday (July 6). It becomes immediately available for download on Tuesday, July 21.

By Monte Dutton
By Monte Dutton

The novel is a fable of life’s absurdity. The main character begins it as a football coach and winds up being a motivational speaker. Absurdity is represented in a wide range of themes that seem to be in confict: God, greed, ambition, drugs, sex, sports, preachers, speakers, betrayal, happiness, death, redemption, and cynicism. It’s sometimes comic, sometimes tragic, and occasionally profound.

I’m proud of it.

It has a chance to be popular. It is a KindleScout selection, which means it is a product of a selection process that begins with Amazon.com visitors nominating it for publication based on a sample of its contents. Popular vote didn’t choose my book. It just provided a basis for advancement in the process. Kindle Publishing has a financial stake in its success and thus an incentive to promote it. My job is to take that promotion beyond the existing bounds.

For the past few days, I have been sending out emails to a variety of publications and media outlets. Each received a news release; a Q&A from me on how I wrote it and why; a digital photograph of the cover; and a digital photo of me. I’ll continue to chip away at this process. So far, there’s been one reply, but I expect there will be more once the holiday weekend is over and people go back to work. Some will delete the email without bothering to look at it. Some will scan through it and then delete it. Some, I hope, will show interest. I’m sending the material out one at a time and trying to customize the emails slightly, based on characteristics of each destination. I can lead the media to water, but I can’t make them drink.

I can reach people directly through social media, and, as you undoubtedly know, I’m conversant with that.

Many of you will like my novel if you bother to read it. I’ve got to create a process that feeds upon itself. If you like it enough to promote it to your followers and friends, Twitter and Google+ followers and Facebook friends, you can participate in its spread. Word of mouth works more than it ever has, simply because most of us have a simple means to spread our words. The flip side is that competition multiplies, too.

I’ll appreciate it if you see fit to read my book and then help it sell. I hope you will order it soon, read it quickly, and let the world know what you think. You can do so by recommending it on your sites and pages, rating and/or reviewing it at sites like amazon.com and goodreads.com, and by telling people you think will like it that … you think they’ll like it.

It’s simple but on a grand scale.

Thanks in advance.

 

              My blogs about sports and other non-fictional topics are at montedutton.com. To examine most all my books, non-fiction and fiction alike, click here: http://www.amazon.com/Monte-Dutton/e/B005H3B144/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1416767492&sr=8-1

 

One thought on “It Takes a Village to Sell a Book

  1. Sounds amazing I’ll give it a look 🙂 I’ve followed and ill be sure to check out some of your other posts. I’m a fellow writer myself and would love to get your feedback on some of my posts if you have time. I’m working on a novel currently (not unlike yourself) and I post short stories on my blog. If not, thanks anyway, have fun writing and keep it up 🙂

Leave a Reply

