Why My Novel Is Running

Tidioute 003

One of the recurring signature events of any political campaign occurs when a candidate is asked why he’s running and can’t answer it.

If a person can’t say why he (or she) wants to occupy the office he seeks, invariably he will claim this fundamental question is of the “gotcha” variety. Then he tells his pollster to get on it and come up with a satisfactory reply.

Monte Dutton
Monte Dutton

As I’m not running for office, and for obvious reasons, it occurred to me that I should be ready to communicate with potential readers the reason why they should read my upcoming novel, Crazy of Natural Causes. It’s obvious why I wrote it. I’m a writer. It’s what I do. Increasingly, I believe it’s all I can do. I’m much better at it than drawing or playing guitar, which isn’t saying much.

Crazy is about the redemption of a good man, but the world has few sinners and fewer saints, and, like most, Chance Benford falls in between.

Why Crazy of Natural Causes? Because, at the beginning, Chance is out of control. As a football coach, he grows increasingly compulsive until he finds that success alone is not enough for him to keep his job. An awful Monday leaves him not only ruined in terms of his career but fighting for his life.

As doctors reconstruct him and he rebuilds, he finds that the reason for his madness had been a growth in his brain. He also finds a certain tranquility from reading the Bible in his hospital room. It changes him, more in wisdom than spirituality. After one growth is removed, another kind occurs.

Chance slowly rejoins the outside world, carrying the burden of a man who cannot much remember the sins he allegedly committed.

Over and over, he adjusts, and, in a crazy development, becomes successful again. He becomes successful enough that others begrudge him his success.

The title also refers to the world Chance reenters. His story becomes a fable of life’s absurdity. Chance is no longer crazy, but his world is.

So unfolds his further adventures.

The story begins at a high school and ends on a Hollywood set. Most of it is set in Kentucky, where I have never lived but have several friends.

I’m excited. Some of the thrill is because a book is a rigorous project, and it is being published by a company that believes it will be successful. The KindleScout program has renewed my confidence. The overriding reason I’m excited is that I believe you’re going to love it, and I can’t wait for you to find out.

 

              If you haven’t heard, my first two novels are quality yarns, too. I believe, if you read one or both, you won’t be able to resist buying Crazy of Natural Causes, but I’ve been wrong before. Ultimately, you must decide. Here’s a link where you can take a look at most of my other books, including the novels The Audacity of Dope and The Intangibles: http://www.amazon.com/Monte-Dutton/e/B005H3B144/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1416767492&sr=8-1

 

4 thoughts on “Why My Novel Is Running

  1. Is this book available as a nook book? I’m not spotting it on the B&N website. I thought I’d make it one of my beach reads in a couple of weeks.

Leave a Reply

