Observations of My Humdrum Day

Don't worry. This isn't going to be the cover. It's just a sketch I made trying to convey what I had in mind, before, for obvious reasons, I changed it.
Don’t worry. This isn’t going to be the cover. It’s just a sketch I made trying to convey what I had in mind, before, for obvious reasons, I changed it. My mind.

I had a productive day. The majority was busy and business, though I finished a short story I’m not going to post on my web site because it’s unconventional and catered to the requirements of a contest. I haven’t entered it yet because I have to shave about 150 words in order to make it fit the 2,000-word limit.

Most of the day was spent writing various emails and making various plans and paying various bills, one of which was at Bi-Lo, where I drove this afternoon planning on picking up a few odds and ends and wound up spending a hundred bucks. It always happens, and that’s why I should confine my odds-and-ends shopping to places like Family Dollar, Dollar General, and Dollar Tree. I left Bi-Lo deeply concerned about the escalating cost of coffee. I also had two long conversations in the aisles with acquaintances, and that’s something else that almost always happens at the grocery store. Sometimes I go to Ingles just to mingle with a slightly different crowd.

By Monte Dutton
By Monte Dutton

I had the TV on all day, but it was just background noise. I had the latest news from our state’s great Charleston shame on in the morning, but I switched to the Orioles-Phillies game once I heard about the suspect being nabbed in, of all places, Shelby, North Carolina, which gave the world Earl Scruggs and Don Gibson and where my father used to be one of the auctioneers at the weekly car sale. Everyone still remembers him, I’m sure. It wasn’t but forty years ago.

Then, I made myself presentable for the Bi-Lo. For some reason, people look much more tidy at the grocery store than Walmart, even when they shop for groceries at Walmart. I try to go to Walmart as little as possible. Going there might make me think looking like that is okay. I look bad enough shaved, showered, and wearing clothes I haven’t been wearing all week. I don’t know how long it’s been since Laurens got a Walmart Supercenter, but I’m guessing, oh, ten years. I’ve been in it four times, and each was in the most dire of emergencies.

I should time my visits to Walmart to coincide with my rare visits to the Highway Department, which is now known to most people as the DMV. The people generally look exactly like the people at Walmart, but, incredibly, the lines are even worse. At the Highway Department, which is only a mile or so from Walmart, one has to get in line to get in line.

No change has officially been made, but my determination to get my novel, Crazy of Natural Causes, better “covered” (that’s virtually covered, since it’s going to be an e-book), because a man can’t function without either an “e” or an “i” in front of everything important, could push it back a bit.

I made great progress on that today, and I’m hopeful everything will be worked out grandly. I’ve got several “thank yous” to make once this great literary process reaches its climax.

Tomorrow’s plans include more breathtaking revisions for what is going to be my fourth novel, Forgive Us Our Trespasses. I’ve got to keep the ball rolling until I make my fortune again.

 

While you await breathlessly yet another work of fiction from me, I hope you’ll use my existing books as exhibition games to get you ready for the big day when you, too, will read the strange, irreverent tale of Chance Benford. Most of my previous books may be purchased here: http://www.amazon.com/Monte-Dutton/e/B005H3B144/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1416767492&sr=8-1

 

Leave a Reply

