Absentminded Me

I went fishing but almost forgot to bait the hook. (Monte Dutton sketch)
I went fishing but almost forgot to bait the hook. (Monte Dutton sketch)
By Monte Dutton
By Monte Dutton

I’ve been absentminded my whole life. It’s not advancing age. It’s not the first onset of dementia. Not yet. If it’s an onset of dementia, it’s not the first. That was when I was in the third grade and completely forgot about a social studies project.

On Tuesday, I was speeding along on the manuscript of my approaching novel, Crazy of Natural Causes, mainly excising the absentmindedisms that other editors missed, changing the underlines into italics, and vowing never to underline again, when it occurred to me that something might be missing.

Chance Benford, the protagonist, was at a family gathering in Georgia, and everyone was watching CBS This Morning, and conversation turned to Chance’s recent trip to Colorado, and I thought, Wait a minute. I haven’t edited the trip to Colorado.

I didn’t think I’d edited the trip to Colorado. I’m absentminded. Wait a minute.

This is your brain on macaroni and cheese. (Monte Dutton sketch)
This is your brain on macaroni and cheese. (Monte Dutton sketch)

Panicky was I. I went through the “final” version of the manuscript, the one that was written in separate chapters. The one before I pasted it all together to submit it to the KindleScout program. The one before it was chosen by Kindle Publishing and, to paraphrase PBS, readers like you.

I did write about Chance going to Colorado. I’m not that absentminded.

The chapter is important. Miraculously, the narrative almost works without it. Not quite. Otherwise, I might have missed it, too. Like the publishers did. Like the first editors did.

Maybe others are absentminded. Oh, good. Now I’m comforted in a backwards way.

              I hope Crazy of Natural Causes will be out in a little over a month. Then again, I’m absentminded. Until then, please consider my two other novels and my books about sports and music: http://www.amazon.com/Monte-Dutton/e/B005H3B144/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1416767492&sr=8-1

 

Leave a Reply

