Them Ain’t Got No Coffee Blues

This guy looks nothing like me, but he does like coffee.(Monte Dutton sketch)
This guy looks nothing like me, but he does like coffee.(Monte Dutton sketch)

Supposedly drugs do not really make a person creative. They merely make him think he is creative.

On the other hand, supposedly, image is reality.

I don’t feel creative this morning. I feel listless. I feel dull. I need drugs. The drug is caffeine. I didn’t realize I was addicted to coffee until the apparatus that brews it stopped working. This occurred last night after an early supper. I cleaned everything. In fact, trying to make the coffee maker work was all I could do that was energetic. I was motivated to get that coffee brewing again. ‘Twas in vain.

This guy who does look like me would like to drink coffee. (Monte Dutton sketch)
This guy who does look like me would like to drink coffee. (Monte Dutton sketch)

As much as I was tempted to go out and buy another one, I knew I could get a new one, likely a better one than I would have found at Walmart and definitely better than one I would have found at Family Dollar. Unfortunately, a new one, purchased with credit-card points, is going to take a while to get here. This morning, as soon as I awakened, to ensure that I wouldn’t awaken several more times, I drove to the nearest drive-through and bought the biggest, insulated cup of coffee they offered. Either I’m going to be spending a dollar and fifty-two cents several times a day, or I’m going to go buy some instant. I haven’t made up my mind yet.

Writing makes me sleepy. Reading makes me sleepy. When I’m sleepy, I’m accustomed to remedying it with coffee. I didn’t think it made that much difference. I generally drank it either two or three times a day, typically in a large mug. Getting up early, putting some coffee on, perusing the social media feeds, and watching Imus in the Morning was a comfortable, pleasant way to begin each day.

It would be a good time to quit. I don’t want to quit. I want my coffee maker to arrive.

According to an email, my order has been received.

We will send tracking and ETA information once your order has shipped.

“ETA” means “estimated time of arrival.” I know this because I used to fly a lot. If my coffee maker will find its way to my house, I will fly again, or, at least, hover.

              Thanks for reading me, even when I’m listless. I hope this doesn’t disappoint you. I’d like to invite you to nominate my third novel, Crazy of Natural Causes, for publication at KindleScout. The first of two clicks is this one: https://kindlescout.amazon.com/p/1H8P26P38KYW8

              My already published novels, as well as non-fiction books on sports and music, are available here: http://www.amazon.com/Monte-Dutton/e/B005H3B144/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1416767492&sr=8-1

 

One thought on “Them Ain’t Got No Coffee Blues

Leave a Reply

