Soon … Adventure!

No telling what's out there.  (Monte Dutton photo)
No telling what’s out there. (Monte Dutton photo)

This week is somewhat normal. I’m trying to get some worthwhile editing work on my crime novel, Forgive Us Our Trespasses, and write some short stories. Bills will be paid, errands run, dishes and clothes washed, and yardwork completed.

Oh, yeah. Red Sox watched, for better or worse.

Monte Dutton
Monte Dutton

I’ve never seen a more efficient segue from April showers to May flowers. April was a shower, and then, on the last day of the month, the spigot shut off, and now weatherpersons keep telling me there’s nothing but sunshine in sight.

Next week, I’m going on my annual trek to Texas. I’m participating in what is now called a Taste of Cooke County, which is a gigantic fundraiser for a local charity called VISTO. I’m going to try to master some ceremonies, and announce some winners, take notes on whom I’m about to introduce, and provide a little music myself.

Soon I’ll start getting ready for Texas, which is to say I’ll at least think about the path I’m taking, where I’ll stop along the way, and make sure my seldom-used suitcase has all the necessary instruments and inclusions. I’ll have to leave the lawn in shape that should keep it presentable for ever how long it takes me to get out yonder and get back. I’ll have to make sure my nephew is ready for house-sitting duty. He knows the drill, but there have been a few changes since his last occupation.

I’m relying on this trip for vivid scenes that might influence works of fiction. I don’t think I’m going to take my sketch pad along, but I might do some sketching when I get back, based on photos I take.

              In the meantime, I’d appreciate it if you’d take a look at my novel, Crazy of Natural Causes, which is up for publication at KindleScout, and if you’ll click on the link below, you can read samples and a Q&A, and it only takes one more click to nominate it: https://kindlescout.amazon.com/p/1H8P26P38KYW8

Leave a Reply

