The Writing Sanctions

Rock is a many splendored thing. Natural Bridge at El Malpais National Monument, New Mexico. (Monte Dutton)
Rock is a many splendored thing. Natural Bridge at El Malpais National Monument, New Mexico. (Monte Dutton)

I have to protect myself.

From myself.

The world provides too many things to do. It’s too easy to while away a day dragging a finger across an iPhone screen on a Twitter scroll. It’s too easy to wonder what made that dog seem so happy, or that cheeseburger so succulent, on Facebook.

By Monte Dutton
By Monte Dutton

Plus, too many people are angry and unreasonable. I’m sure it would be better if we could talk things out.

Remember talk?

It’s too easy to store up a bunch of movies to watch, whether by taping or Netflix or any number of other services I try my best not to know about.

I only watch TV when it’s live. I just figure it’ll all come around, and, eventually, I’ll see what I want to see. If I’m on the road, with time to kill, I may go see a first-run movie, but, mainly, I just wait for it to pop up on TV.

Age breeds patience. I remember when I first had a VCR. I used to tape movies left and right off TV. I had them labeled with the names of stars and years of release. I had a closet full of them. After the novelty wore off, I never watched them. I just found out all those movies showed up enough on regularly scheduled TV that I didn’t need to have them available to see every time I wanted. Random rotation provided what I wanted.

I need to write. Write!

It takes time. It takes reasonably standard working hours. It takes motivation. I waste enough time on that Twitter feed.

Somewhere out there lies inspiration. Northern California coast. (Monte Dutton)
Somewhere out there lies inspiration. Northern California coast. (Monte Dutton)

Self-deception can kick in. Ah, I’m just not in the mood right now. Start writing, and make sure. Sometimes, I’m really not in the mood. More often, though, if I start writing, it’ll come. When it won’t come is if I decide to catch up on, say, the last seventeen episodes of House of Cards.

It’s hypothetical. I haven’t ever seen an episode of House of Cards. I’d like to watch it, but it violates the sharp restrictions necessary to protect me from me.

You may find my blogs about sports, most often NASCAR, at www.montedutton.com, and you may find my books, some fiction and some non, here: http://www.amazon.com/Monte-Dutton/e/B005H3B144/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1416767492&sr=8-1

Leave a Reply

