Dates, Ages, & Other Nonsense

Headed down that long, lonesome highway.  (Monte Dutton photo)
Headed down that long, lonesome highway. (Monte Dutton photo)

It hit me like a numerical freight train, shortly after I awakened and chose the appropriate strain of coffee. I went with “Breakfast Blend,” which would seem to be a no-brainer.

Today is 12/13/14, and since the calendar has only twelve months, next year there won’t be a 13/14/15. Even my math skills visualize that. Dude. It’s gonna be, like, a hundred years. We may never pass this way again. This date is so significant, it made me think of Seals & Crofts, and I don’t think that’s happened since Reagan was president. Not Seals & Crofts. Thinking of Seals & Crofts. I tend to confuse them with Sid & Marty Krofft, who produced such staples of my youth as the Banana Splits and H.R. Pufnstuf. Imagine Seals & Crofts singing the Banana Splits Theme (“Nah-nah-NAH, nah-nuh-nah-NAH …”), but, no, that’s impossible.

It’s beneath them. Besides, Dash Crofts, according to a source no more unimpeachable than Wikipedia, is older than my mother. Mom has Jim Seals by more than a year. Sid and Marty are older than the other three – my mom, Dash Crofts, Jim Seals – but still kicking.

Nah-nah-NAH, nah-nuh-nah-NAH. … Imagine college sports mascots on the log flume at Six Flags.

Somehow, today’s date made me think of Seventies soft rock, and childhood pastimes. National Free Association Day must coincide with 12/13/14. Personally, that is. A quirk. A mystery. A small tear in the fabric of my being.

I was there for the dawning of The Age of Aquarius. My father was an Aquarius. Have no fear, though. An astrological age lasts approximately 2,160 years. There’s still time to hop aboard.

Find an excuse to write a check today (thanks for the tip, John Edwin Mason), just for the opportunity of writing “12/13/14.” One possible option is one of my books: http://www.amazon.com/Monte-Dutton/e/B005H3B144/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1414631316&sr=1-1

If you’d like to order a signed copy of one or both my novels, directly from me, see “merchandise” at www.montedutton.com. This might actually involve the aforementioned check.

Leave a Reply

