Why I Haiku

Phoenix from South Mountain State Park. (Monte Dutton)
Phoenix from South Mountain State Park. (Monte Dutton)

I’m surprised at myself. It wasn’t suggested to me. I didn’t borrow it from anyone else. It just occurred to me that the poetic haiku works very well on Twitter. I’m sure there are haiku Twitter accounts, probably hundreds, maybe thousands, but they don’t show up on my timeline, and I haven’t followed any.

While I’m sure it wasn’t original, the decision was original to me.

Monte Dutton
Monte Dutton

The difficulty of tweeting is making a coherent point in a small amount of space. I don’t like intentional bad grammar – let me clarify that: bad grammar for effect is, I think, acceptable; it’s, uh, gratuitous bad grammar I oppose – and symbols and abbreviations – LOL, “ima,” emoticons, emojis, “bae,” “oomf,” et al. – that retard communication instead of enhance it.

Since I don’t let people know I’m being funny – LOL, hahahaha – they often take tweets literally. I think when I’m being funny, it ought to be obvious. Telling others what is funny sort of defeats the purpose of humor.

I thought, why not write in haiku?

I don’t tweet strictly in haiku. I just think it’s more clever than orthodox tweets but still not that difficult. There’s a little art to it, but there’s a little art to tweeting in the manner of most people. It’s fun. It’s made Twitter interesting again.

Once I thought I’d see / Moderates in GOP / There is no such thing

Whatever you think / Participate. It matters / Go out there and vote

For everything / By now awareness should be / Sufficiently raised

Of my favorite / Things in sports are Indy Colts / Simple uniforms

I think I’ll continue. I can’t help it if it makes you tweet “welp.”

              Thanks for reading my observations. I’d like to recommend www.montedutton.com, as well. Please consider buying my books, fiction and non-fiction, here: http://www.amazon.com/Monte-Dutton/e/B005H3B144/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1414631316&sr=1-1

3 thoughts on “Why I Haiku

  1. Rich

    Oh but your poor political tweets always have to bash Republicans. And just to think we aren’t as worthless as you always seem to think we are.

  2. My husband’s book: http://www.amazon.com/Office-Haiku-Poems-Inspired-Daily-ebook/dp/B003E74BY2/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1415206810&sr=8-1&keywords=office+haiku

    He, I, and a friend often communicate via haiku, even in formats like email where we have no such space limitations. The book was born from the fact that he was working an office job he hated, and in spare minutes he would email me a haiku or two about it. I saved them and sent them to a publisher.

    Our friend John was driving from New Hampshire to Florida, and we told him to let us know that he’d arrived safely. The email, when it came, read in its entirety:

    Bottomless iced tea:
    Seemed like a good idea, but
    now–every rest stop.

Leave a Reply

