Upon Further Review …

Warming up at dusk. (Monte Dutton)
Warming up at dusk. (Monte Dutton)

Until I did it occasionally a year ago and regularly this year, I hadn’t written about a high school football game in more than fifteen years.

Monte Dutton
Monte Dutton

Back then, I thought myself quite the whiz kid. I could keep running accounts of the game and cumulative totals at the same time. Then I could talk to both coaches and several players, hurry back to the press box, or sometimes offices in a gym where I could use a phone line, and crank out the story in record time after record time.

Now, not so much. Fortunately, before I sank into the depression of the aged, I thought about it a bit more. I may have changed, but the biggest change is the job.

Back then, I didn’t have to tweet. I didn’t have to write a running account of the game as it went along, then top it off, fill in some blanks, and send it in to meet deadlines that are earlier now than twenty years ago.

More tasks are there to multiply.

Reports of my demise have been greatly exaggerated.

              If you’d like to read my non-fiction, mostly sports, read www.montedutton.com. My novels, The Intangibles and The Audacity of Dope, are available from www.neverlandpublishing.com and www.amazon.com, with Kindle editions available at the latter.

Leave a Reply

