What’s in It for Me?

The Gateway Arch, uh, to my writing. (Monte Dutton)
The Gateway Arch, uh, to my writing. (Monte Dutton)

On my other blog, at montedutton.com, I struck a chord this week.

I think it was a G, but it might have been an E-minor.

Two weeks ago, I wrote a NASCAR blog about Dale Earnhardt Jr. About eight hundred people read it. On Sunday, I wrote a blog about the incident in upstate New York involving Tony Stewart and Kevin Ward Jr., the young driver who was killed. As of the last time I checked, about forty-thousand people had at least clicked on it and at most read it.

In NASCAR, if you write something that gets fifty times as much as anything about Junior, you’ve struck a chord. Some people think you’re a picker when, really, you’re just a strummer.

Now, those forty thousand hits might be worth, oh, fifty dollars. I’m not getting rich off these blogs. Come to think of it, I’m not getting rich off anything.

In the blog, I went back to a book I wrote in 2001, Rebel with a Cause: A Season with NASCAR Star Tony Stewart. Miraculously, that book, which has withstood the test of time rather well, is still available. One place is:

 

http://www.amazon.com/Rebel-With-Cause-Season-Stewart/dp/1574882805/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1408048605&sr=8-3&keywords=Monte+Dutton

 

I wrote other NASCAR-related books in the 1998-2007 period – At Speed, Postcards from Pit Road, Haul A** and Turn Left, Jeff Gordon: The Racer, and Taking Stock, which was a collaboration with seven other sports writers – and they’re all still available at various bookseller sites, amazon.com and barnesandnoble.com among them. I also wrote a book about music, True to the Roots: Americana Music Revealed.

This site, wellpilgrim.wordpress.com, was devised as a place for me to specialize in fiction. Though I philosophize from time to time, this is mostly a place for me to stash short stories. I write them in parts, thinking some readers might enjoy the story in small doses, but then, at the end, I post the complete version, which, in the final form, has been edited a bit.

Here are several of my short stories I think you might enjoy if you haven’t already.

This one has a surprise ending.

 

https://wellpilgrim.wordpress.com/2014/04/05/furlough-blues/

 

This one is about a race driver remembering his scandalous youth.

 

https://wellpilgrim.wordpress.com/2014/05/30/high-wild-and-handsome-2/

 

This one got the most attention.

 

https://wellpilgrim.wordpress.com/2014/06/09/facebook-friends/

 

Audacity2Then there are my two published novels, The Audacity of Dope and The Intangibles, both by Neverland Publishing LLC of Miami, Florida (neverlandpublishing.com), both available at amazon.com and available in both soft-cover and Kindle versions. I’ve got a third sitting on the side at the moment, and I’m nearly finished with the first draft of a fourth.

I’ve tried to take different directions with each novel. The Audacity of Dope is an irreverent yarn about a pot-smoking musician who inadvertently manages to become a national hero and winds up filling the role. The Intangibles, which was published at the end of last year, is set in the 1960s South amid racial unrest, desegregation, bigotry, and high-school football. Both novels include humor, suspense, death, sex, drugs and adventure. Some of the language is atrocious. Most of the characters are neither saints nor sinners, just people caught forever in between and tilting one way or the other.

MontyBookFLatSEPIA_TITLEThe third novel, unpublished and thus not yet italicized, is called Crazy by Natural Causes, and it’s set in Kentucky, not my native South Carolina. It’s about a flawed men who begins as a football coach and winds up as religious maverick. It is a tale of redemption and a fable of absurdity.

The current project doesn’t have a title yet. It’s about the conflict between a bad prosecutor and a good cop. Oh, a sheriff is dumb, a deputy is bloodthirsty, and all the kids are on drugs. The central theme is the unavoidable corruption of patronage. It might be called Deadly Arrogance, but I hope to come up with something a little more original. If I can come up with a whole novel, I ought to be able to settle on a title.

Leave a Reply

