Attending to the Attention

Richmond, Va. It's hard to follow these instructions. (Monte Dutton)
Richmond, Va. It’s hard to follow these instructions. (Monte Dutton)

As you may know, I blog regularly at montedutton.com as well as here. For twenty years, I wrote about automobile racing for a living. The other blog is often devoted to NASCAR, as well as other sports and aspects of life I experience. I began this blog as a site for my literary endeavors: the books I’ve written, the ones I’m writing, and short stories. I probably could have saved some extraneous words by noting that “wellpilgrim” is about writing. Or that this one’s mainly fiction, and the other’s mainly non-fiction.

Owing to my past, montedutton.com gets more attention. A NASCAR blog typically is read by about ten times as many people as my short stories.

I wrote a blog on Sunday that, at least by my lowly standards, went “viral,” to borrow the hyperbolic slang. A typical auto-racing blog reaches about a thousand readers. “Nobody Wins,” about the Kevin Ward Jr. tragedy at a New York dirt track and Tony Stewart’s role in it, reached about 15,000 readers on Sunday and, so far, close to 12,000 more today.

As I should have realized, today turned into radio/TV day. I’ve been on three radio talk shows and one TV show so far today, and as of the last time I checked email, four more are coming up. It’s not unusual for radio hosts to ask me to appear on their shows – I’m on SCSportsTalk most every Friday night – but most times it’s two or three a week, tops.

By the way, here’s the blog link: http://montedutton.com/blog/2014/08/10/nobody-wins/

I’m going to begin another short story soon. Right now I’m sort of bogged down in the consequences of yesterday. As Gus Macrae said in Lonesome Dove, “They’s worse thangs.”

One thought on “Attending to the Attention

Leave a Reply

