Excuse Me For Not Caring

 

I don’t care if the sun don’t shine / I don’t care if the bells don’t chime / Just as long as you love me. – Buck Owens

 

REDSKINS_002[1]

Time is infinite, but mine isn’t. I just don’t have time to care about everything. Some things don’t amount to a hill of beans, or at least not to me, for I am many things but not a bean farmer.

I don’t care whether or not there is prayer in the public schools. It was when I was a boy, but I don’t think reciting the Lord’s Prayer had any effect whatsoever on my spiritual beliefs. It was just recitation: Ahfahwhoahtinheavenhallowedbethahname (breathe), thahkingdomcomethahwihbedone (breathe) … and so on. You want your kid to know Jesus? Take him to church. Read him the Good Book.

I don’t care what the name of the football team in Washington is. It’s okay with me if they remain Redskins, and it’s fine if they change it. I’m certain that the fans of the Washington Redskins do not cheer for the team because they are trying to insult Indians. I’m sure Redskins have a positive image in fans of the Redskins. When I was a boy, and my parents took me to Sunday school, we sang, “Jesus loves the little children, all the children of the world, red and yellow, black and white, they are precious in His sight …” Is that song still sung? Have the lyrics been changed? What would make me happy with the Washington football team is for the owner to be dropped. Daniel Snyder is more offensive a name than Redskins. To me. Whom I represent.

I don’t care about Benghazi. In any international tragedy, mistakes and miscalculations are made. Republicans tried to use it against President Obama in the 2012 campaign. Now it’s just a preemptive strike on Hillary Clinton, and a petty one. She was Secretary of State, not head of consulate security.

I don’t care about alleged Patriots who are disloyal to the elected government of the United States. To be a patriot, one must be patriotic. I see little difference from the Student Non-Violent Coordinating Committee of the 1960s and the Tea Party of today, other than they are extremists from opposite sides. Nixon’s Silent Majority works from the opposite end nowadays. When Harry Truman fired General Douglas MacArthur in 1951, he said, “I fired him because he wouldn’t respect the authority of the President. I didn’t fire him because he was a dumb son of a bitch, although he was, but that’s not against the law for generals. If it was, half to three quarters of them would be in jail.” That’s about right.

I don’t care if “everyone does it,” but you just got caught. That is a loser’s most prized lament.

            But … I do respect your right to opinions of your very own.

Leave a Reply

