And a Boyfriend, Too!

The Gateway Arch.
The Gateway Arch.

The highlight of the weekend was what I overheard at the Family Dollar. I was standing in line, which happens quite often at the Family Dollar with one register open and customers backed up down the candy aisle. The lady in front of me was talking with her grown son, and much to my surprise, the topic was the National Football League draft, specifically, the seventh-round selection of the St. Louis Rams.

“I knew that Michael Sam was gay,” the lady told her son, “but I didn’t know he had a boyfriend.”

I kept a straight face, but it was very difficult.

When I “tweeted” this, several “followers” replied with the insinuation that this place, this Family Dollar Store, was populated with simpletons, which, come to think of it, was kind of a rap at me, too.

It’s not. People say stupid things all the time, and most of them are on TV.

Stupid sells, man. A damn good living can be made with stupidity. Sometimes I think I’m too smart for my own good. Others are making money hand over fist – yes, it’s one of those clichés – being stupid while I’m taking up time with no longer feasible pastimes like writing novels.

The future’s with social media, kids. And rap.

If you can tweet and rap, you’re set. If you can do them at the same time, you’ll be a millionaire.

Then the world will end.

2 thoughts on “And a Boyfriend, Too!

Leave a Reply

