A Regular Fats Domino

Embed from Getty Images
I think I’m walking to New Orleans. I’m walking to New Orleans …

Not really. I hardly walk to my mailbox. I’m driving to New Orleans, and I hope to make some stops along the way, and, quite possibly, the way back. I’m going to Texas with my guitar, not my banjo, in my back seat, not my knee.

The Concert for VISTO, a very worthwhile charity in Cooke County, Texas, is Saturday, May 17, at the fairgrounds in Gainesville. I’ll be the emcee, which is going to be quite the considerable job since the concert lasts all day and all night. Once upon a time, I thought I’d cash in some miles and fly out to Dallas-Fort Worth, but then I heard there might be a chance for a book signing at the Garden District Book Shop in the Crescent City, so there I’ll be on Thursday, May 15, from 6 to 7:30 p.m.

Embed from Getty Images
It didn’t take much to get me to drive. Now I’m looking for some more activities on the way out and/or the way back. I’ve got two novels, The Intangibles (new) and The Audacity of Dope (2011), to sell, sign, read from and talk about. I’ve got a guitar and a bunch of songs I wrote.

I could take a southern trip out – oh, Atlanta, Montgomery, Mobile, in the general direction of New Orleans – and a northern track – Little Rock, Memphis, Nashville, Knoxville, Asheville – on the way back. I could even divert to, oh, an Oklahoma City or a Louisville. I’m just going to load up the truck and go west. And find a Laundromat and eventually make my lonely way back home.

My new novel – it’s been out since the end of last year but only just became available for Kindle – is about the South, civil rights, high school football, segregation, integration, bigotry, corruption, murder, suicide, drugs and religion, not exactly in that order and I may have left a few out. I only wrote it.

What’s not to like?

            Let me know if you have suggestions of where I might be able to prosper in selling my books and/or singing my songs. Give montedutton.com “a look-see.”

Leave a Reply

