Latest Tale of the Wild, Wild South

I do a lot of sighing lately.

It’s against the law, at least in most places, to smoke in bars. I’m okay with that. There’s a part of me that thinks it’s sort of strange that, in a place people come to drink, they can’t smoke. I’m sort of a “life is fatal” adherent. I don’t concern myself with fretting over secondary smoke. Most everything can kill you; it’s just a matter of degree. Guns are sort of the nth degree. A lot more is known about what can kill you, but, for the most part, what can kill you can’t kill you any better than it could, say, fifty years ago. People have a right to be stupid, and almost everyone does something stupid.

In a paragraph, that is the Life Is Fatal mission statement.

But … how can it be unacceptable to smoke but perfectly appropriate to carry a gun into a bar (or restaurant)? That’s the crowning achievement of South Carolina Gov. Nikki Haley, there being few others. She and her General Assembly are so proud.

Of course, it’s illegal to take a gun into a bar and drink. Apparently there exist many sober vigilantes who intend to sit on end stools and wait for someone to misbehave. I’m thinking some people may be afraid to text now.

It’s the bar or restaurant’s responsibility to inform anyone who’s both packing and pounding (beer) that he or she has to leave.

By the way, did I mention that this is a concealed weapon?

How’d you like to be the bartender having to tell John Dillinger that he has to take it (a gun) outside?

Bars and restaurants do have the right to ban guns. Surely most will. Are they worried that they will lose all that non-drinking, gun-toting business?

Most of the time, when I go to a restaurant that doubles as a bar, I have a diet soft drink. Occasionally, I have a few beers with friends. I’m not a big drinker. Either one or two Sierra Nevadas is in the refrigerator right now, left by a friend over a week ago. I reserve the right to drink, but I don’t do it that often.

But I like bars, anyway, so that puts me right in the crosshairs, so to speak. Don’t want a beer? Here. Have a gun.

In this state, we don’t have gun control. We have gun expansion.

4 thoughts on “Latest Tale of the Wild, Wild South

  1. Apparently there exist many sober vigilantes who intend to sit on end stools and wait for someone to misbehave.

    Or people could be going in to enjoy time with their friends and family. Many people like you rarely drink. Especially mindful of that fact are those who carry concealed. In Texas, it is already against the law to carry while intoxicated. Why is it hard to conceive of gun carrying people to be like you? Rarely using alcohol?

    It’s the bar or restaurant’s responsibility to inform anyone who’s both packing and pounding (beer) that he or she has to leave.

    By the way, did I mention that this is a concealed weapon?

    How’d you like to be the bartender having to tell John Dillinger that he has to take it (a gun) outside?

    Contradict yourself much? It’s a concealed weapon. Unless the person announces (s)he is carrying it; how is anyone going to know?

    Of course, a simple exercise in logic would lead a person to conclude carrying in bars could be something that is already happening; just without the benefit of the law. How would anyone know?

    Are they worried that they will lose all that non-drinking, gun-toting business?

    No, they are concerned that they will lose business to bars that respect their customer’s common sense and intelligence. And their fundamental rights.

    Patrons aren’t the only one affected by this; wait staff, owners, cooks, etc – all people formerly prohibited from carrying in bars will now be allowed to carry. Surely having a waitress armed as she walks out to her car at 2:00 a.m. isn’t a bad thing?
    Or a manager carrying the day’s till to the bank?

      1. Well, I’m glad you love it.
        First of all, this started with a blog in which I wrote what I thought.
        Secondly, I didn’t support gun control. I expressed opposition to gun expansion. Thirdly, your original response raised issues that were already provided for — an owner being armed as protection for his income, for example.
        I wrote I respected your opinion. I do. It’s just not mine. And that’s OK. When I write a blog, I don’t obligate myself to debating it back and forth. I just obligate myself to be honest in what I write.

Leave a Reply

