Just Why Would Saddles Blaze?

Nothing sidetracks a morning like the discovery that “Blazing Saddles” is playing on IFC. This blog would be finished, undoubtedly on a different topic, if not for Lillie Von Shtupp, the Teutonic Titwillow.
“Can’t you see this is the last act of a desperate man?”
“I don’t care if it’s the first act of ‘Henry V.’ We’re leaving!”
I’m not sure why it was deemed appropriate for the holiday season, but mine is only to be grateful. In the past week, I’ve watched all or part of “Young Frankenstein” and “The Producers,” too.
“Blazing Saddles” was released in 1974, “Animal House” in 1978, and that alone is enough to make me suspect those were better times.
I can only imagine what the Tea Party would have thought.
“Badges? We don’t need no stinking badges!”
I’ve got three guitars – two acoustic and one electric – lined up and leaning against the couch to my left.
I’ve got a book, Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption, by Laura Hillenbrand, that I’m about a quarter of the way through. Slightly less insignificant, but gently climbing a ladder of prestige, are bowl games, the first of which is minutes away. One will probably be going when I go to sleep tonight, though it may depend on the level of competitiveness and entertainment.
If I’m going to get any real work done today, it had better be during this Bell Helicopter Armed Forces Bowl, matching Navy against the Middle of Tennessee.
Now Microsoft informs me that I must restart my laptop the better for important updates to be installed.
After getting over the awe of having my laptop updated, I’ll get back to this.
Though you may not read this until certain games are over, here are my picks, along with their ingenious justifications.
Navy beats Middle Tennessee State because I just don’t see how Raiders can perform well with the Blues. Not even Silver & Black is working.
In the Franklin American Mortgage Music City Bowl, Ole Miss beats Georgia Tech because I don’t see how Tech can be as musical as the word Mississippi, which has a nice lilt to it.
In the Valero Alamo Bowl, Oregon overruns Texas because, well, it’s the Alamo.
Finally, Arizona State wins the National University Holiday Bowl because Tempe is a better place for holiday celebration than Lubbock. The Red Raiders just aren’t going to acclimate as well to San Diego.
I think it was Tom T. Hall who wrote that anyone who reads the box scores and the comics is as well-informed as anyone on the left or the right.
I’m banking on that, though not at Franklin American Mortgage.

2 thoughts on “Just Why Would Saddles Blaze?

  1. Joe

    Watching something like Blazing Saddles or even All in the Family always makes me think about how far we’ve gone backward. In the mid-70s certain words were being robbed of their power to divide and to incite hostility. Their use in Pop Culture presentation, like this movie or in the name if Richard Pryor’s album began to take away the evil in them. Not sure why that trend was squelched.

Leave a Reply

